Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Department of Biological Sciences

    green anole
    green anole
    antarctic mountains
    bacillus anthracis
    bee on flower
    oral cancer cells
    cancer cells
    derring hall in snow
    elegans
    field girls
    forest
    gfp
    greenhouse
    students in greenhouse
    student in lab
    leaf stain
    mayfly
    banded mongoose
    bacteria with pili
    anaphase
    salamander
    schubot article header
    stream
    treefrog
    test tubes
    tunel
    wood frog
    woodpecker

 

The Department of Biological Sciences is a major hub for life sciences research and teaching at Virginia Tech, with interdisciplinary connections that span the university.  We are home to 55 faculty, 20 postdocs/research scientists, and 90 graduate students.  The department is the largest undergraduate degree-granting unit in the university, with some 350 B.S. degree conferred each year; we also host more than 100 undergraduates in our research labs year-round.  Research expenditures exceed $5M annually across the range of the discipline, specifically in the following focus areas:

We invite you to explore our web site to learn more about current happenings, opportunities for undergraduate and graduate training, and special achievements of our faculty, staff, current students, and our 9000+ living alumni!

 

   

cover

2015 Biological Sciences Commencement Program (.pdf)

 

Current Open Faculty Positions

 

    linked_logo
Join the Department of Biological Sciences on LinkedIn!
    giving

Upcoming Events


Tuesday, May 26 - Thursday, July 2, 2015: Summer Session I Classes

Monday, June 22 - Thursday, June 25, 2015: Transfer Student Orientation

Friday, July 3 - Monday, July 6, 2015: Summer Session I Exams

Monday, July 6 - Friday, July 24, 2015: New Student Orientation

Tuesday, July 7, 2015 - Thursday, August 13, 2015: Summer Session II Classes

Friday, August 14 - Saturday, August 15, 2015: Summer Session II Exams

Thursday, August 20, 2015: Biological Sciences Faculty Retreat, details TBA

Monday, August 24, 2015: Fall Classes begin